Passover is a Jewish holiday that lasts from April 10th to April 18th. This event honors  Israelites in ancient Egypt, who, led by Moses, escaped slavery. As the story goes, the Israelites were leaving and did not have time to let their bread rise. Subsequently,  during Passover, it is a tradition to avoid eating leaven products known as chametz (ha-meh-tz). 

Ashkenazi (European dissent) and Sephardic (Spain/Middle East dissent) Jews have different regulations on what they cannot eat. Ultimately, Sephardic and Ashkenazi Jews both cannot eat chametz, which includes the following: wheat, oats, rye, barley, and spelt. Ashkenazi Jews also cannot eat kitniyot: corn, millet, beans, lentils, peas, green beans, soybeans, peanuts, sesame seeds, poppy seeds, and mustard. However, some Ashkenazi Jews believe that avoiding kitniyot is excessive and join the Sephardic tradition of only removing chametz from their diet.